top of page

Integration

No, this is not a post about mixing the races. Today I want to go beyond race into the spirit. Last week I finally told my grandmother about the book I wrote, "What The F#@k Is Enlightenment?". I kept it from her out of fear of her disappointment and judgement because I thought that she might disapprove of some of the content however, but I knew it had to be done.

After our conversation, we connected on a deeper level and had a better understanding of each other. My grandmother was a little stuck on the word "Fuck" being in my title and asked, "But why that word?". I explained to her that the word is often used in a negative connotation to express anger but that I wanted to take it out of the negative realm and put it in a positive light. She was very intrigued by this perspective and was more open to accepting the content of the book.

Often times in our lives, this is exactly what we are being called to do. We want the bad experiences in our lives to disappear and go away but at times what we need to do is find a way to integrate the dark with the light in a way that completely transforms the experience. In this way, we honor the purpose of the negative experience by making it valuable. Your problems are not going to disappear but you do have the power to take something that is negative and bring it into the light. This is our calling. This is what all of life is asking us to do. Don't judge it, don't fear it. "Light up the darkness."

Peace & Love,

Kamaria

bottom of page